Why should WE prove anything to YOU?

I’m annoyed… seriously annoyed… Got banned from a DID forum for “making a mockery of DID” and being a “sorry excuse for a human being”… I don’t even know what I did!!! No one in real life takes anything I say seriously (oter than jack) and now I’m havng to prove myself online as well… should just go back to hiding it

It took 6 years for medical professionals to take us seriously. For 6 years they said stupid things like “stress”, “homesickness” and even “attention seeking”… 6 bloody years… Maybe the mother is right eh? maybe this is all an act to feel “special”? maybe the psychiatrist is right, maybe I am just using it as an excuse to self-harm and take ODs?

And even now about 60% of people think it’s all made up, then again about 50% of people don’t seem to believe in DID at all… I’m trying to change that, tring to spread awareness and educate people, so that others don’t get accused of lying, get things thrown at them, get shunned, and get belittled by doctors.

But now… now I have to prove to online people ASWELL as real life people that I am ill… my god!!! Seriously, why should I have to prove ANYTHING to YOU???? What I experiance is what I experiance, unless we find a way to put you into the brain so you can expriance it too there is no way to prove it is there? But here’s the thing… why would I lie? There are far easier disorders to fake, and why would I fake it anyway?  Why would I mock any illness? Why would anyone?

I understand that the internet breeds suspision, that noone can ever truely know who is at the otherside of the screne (as it were), but if you accuse someone of something then you need to at least explain why… then I can scan a letter from my ex-psych (as I have got one for these such occations) and send it to you. We did not fight for 6 years to be taken seriously by doctors only to then have fellow multiples accuse us of lying. If we are lying then maybe YOU are lying? Thought about that?

So have your stupid forum, ignore how much having someone invalidate us hurts. But in future at least have evidence to back up your claim if you are going to bann someone and accuse them of these things.

4 Responses to “Why should WE prove anything to YOU?”

  1. Patricia Donalds Says:

    Don’t let it get to you for too long. Sometimes people are just plain MEAN.
    Never give up. Never give in.
    Patricia

  2. sexualselfinjury Says:

    It’s their loss! Keep on doing what you’re doing. You don’t have to prove anything. You’re right, who would ever want the diagnosis of DID. It’s hell.
    Keep spreading the awareness and educating the people. I’m on your side.

  3. Maureen Says:

    Oh yeah, I get you big time. I have old friends who are saying I am attention seeking. I have so many people who don’t believe me and there is no way to prove to them that my experience is indeed my experience.

  4. kate1975 Says:

    I’m sorry. I had some bad experiences in online groups as well. I was told that lots of people fake being multiple. I have not experienced that. And I don’t think it is a good enough reason to mistreat and abuse others. Sorry you went through that. There are some good support message boards out there for survivors.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate


Leave a Reply

