The worst thing about DID

[tweetmeme source=”life_with_DID”]

the worst thing is not the loss of time, not the headaches, nor the feeling of being unreal. The worst thing is not the finding yourself in random places, or covered in random injuries. It’s not the constant chatter in your head, nor the inability to plan ahead as you have no idea if you will even be pressent or not at any given time. It’s not even the flashbacks, the lack of a memory or the way it messes up the way you think and learn making you feel asif you’ve basically become stupid…

nope… the worst thing is that in any given conversation where it is brought up there is about a 60% chance that someone there will claim that it’s not a real disorder, that alters are not real, that essentially you are faking.

If I wanted to fake a disorder (and god only knows why anyone would) then surely I would have picked an easier one to do so than DID???

8 Responses to “The worst thing about DID”

  1. Patricia Says:

    I have to agree on this issue!! It is maddening how so many people out there are ignorant enough and biased enough to think anyone would choose to fake such an illness as this. I limit who I let know about my diagnosis exactly for that reason and that reason alone.

  2. DID is real Says:

    This may be of interest:

    Psych Week 2010: EEG Test – An EEG test shows physiological evidence of Paula’s D.I.D.
    http://health.discovery.com/videos/psych-week-2010-eeg-test.html

    http://childabusewiki.org/index.php?title=Dissociative_Identity_Disorder

  3. IdentityBreaks Says:

    My partner has DID, I have seen her dissassociate. Very real. I have been awakened from sleep by Parts afraid and needing help. Very real. Her face changes when a Little, her voice is animated in a way that can not be faked. DID is real, very real.

  4. Mental Disorders 101 Says:

    The worst thing about DID « Shadowlight's Blog…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  5. Survivor News on the Web (May 5-May 11, 2010) « If She Cry Out Says:

    […] discusses her frustrations with being diagnosed with controversial mental illnesses like Disassociative Identity Disorder (DID) and […]

  6. undercoverdid Says:

    I found your blog tonight and this particular post really strikes me, it’s so true. I hadn’t thought of it that way, but so true.


Leave a Reply

